Conversations with a 19-month-old

Ever heard that Katy Perry song “Hot n cold?” The chorus of that song is 19-month-old Lucy, in a nutshell.

You’re hot then you’re cold
You’re yes then you’re no
You’re in then you’re out
You’re up then you’re down

She wants a fork with her dinner, then when I give it to her, “nooo! Spoon!” She wants water. I give her her sippy cup. “Noooo! Milk!” Sigh. It’s honestly so cool to watch this develop. Lucy is learning she can make choices. Sometimes I think she’s simply blinded by options. It reminds me of myself trying to take multiple-choice tests in school. There was always more than one answer I could rationalize would work. I became overwhelmed with options. That’s my sweet girl right now. She’s finding her voice! I love this girl so much it hurts sometimes. Here’s a recent video of one of our “conversations.” My favorite line?

Me (smiling):I love you!
Lucy (stone cold stare): snack

Leave a Reply

