Working momma blues

Being honest here…sometimes being a working mom is really tough! I realized the other day that my sweet Lucy girl spends more of her waking hours at daycare than she does with me or Whit. Ouch! That is a tough pill to swallow! And man those mornings are tough. Pump bag, work bag, cooler, files, water bottle, daycare bag, and baby! Whew! And one thing I didn’t realize when I was pregnant is that, after baby, you’re never really “100%” for anything! When I’m at work, I’m counting the hours until I get to be with my Lucy again. If anyone asks me to stay one minute after my day is over, forget it! I have really been bothered by it lately! But part-time is just not an option, and probably won’t ever be for me. It is what it is! Soooo might as well make the best of it. This morning I got up at 5, got myself ready, got Lucy up at 6, and I was out the door by 6:30. That’s it ! 30 min with my precious girl. I’ve been trying to get ready before she gets up so that teensy amount of time I get I can spend with her. This morning we had such a sweet time – she nursed her sleepy morning feeding and then snuggled while we read a story. It really carried me through the day! There are never enough minutes, never enough snuggles, never enough times singing pat-a-cake. Savor those moments, mamas!

20120917-205432.jpg

2 thoughts on “Working momma blues

  1. Thanks for sharing, Jess. As with everything as a parent, it seems like it is always harder on you than it is on them. I remember a working mom on Oprah talking about how she regretted having a career and working while her kids were young and that is was always hard for her. Then, her daughter stood up amazed and said that she aspired to be a career woman and mother because of what an amazing job her mother did at both, and that she wanted to set the same example for her daughter. I can’t imagine how tough it is to miss out on time with your baby girl; it has to be excruciatingly difficult. Just know that you are setting an amazing example for her, both as a mother and as a working woman and provider. Just like anything else, we cherish moments and are more present in them when we realize that they are fleeting. Though there are many advantages to being a stay-at-home mama and a working mama, I think the working mother is more acutely aware of how precious her time is with her little ones and she works at being more present as a result. That’s a gift, though it comes at a tough price, I can only imagine. When you are so in love there are never enough minutes in the day. You are an amazing woman for how hard you work as a mom and how much you achieve outside of the home. Lucy is blessed to have you as her role model. She’ll tell you that herself one day, but until then, I’ll keep reminding you:) I’m proud of you, Jess. Thanks for sharing the highs and lows of this journey. Love you.

    • Thanks so much, B. Hearing about the woman on Oprah gives me hope! And you’re right, I do appreciate the time more than I would if I was with Lu all the time. Thanks for reminding me of that, and for supporting me and reminding me that I’m doing my best! That’s why YOU are the best. Ever. 🙂 Love you!

Leave a Reply

