Mothers Day

As I lay here in bed, alone, while my husband cares for Lucy and cooks breakfast for us (he insisted I stay in bed!), I am reflecting on the past 6 months. From all the waiting to go into labor, then meeting our little one for the first time, then bringing her home and slowly figuring each other out (I’m pretty sure that one will be a lifelong pursuit!) – these are sweet, sweet times. Motherhood is hard, incredible, exhilarating, exhausting, terrifying, and beautiful. It’s the hardest I’ve worked and the happiest I’ve ever been. It’s the sweetest of times and the shortest of moments.

As a typically anxious, rule-following, try-to-do-the-right-thing kind of mom/person, I keep trying to come back to one truth. I am not going to be the perfect mom (as if there is one). But I promise you, little Lucy, I will try my very best for you. And regardless if i use the right sleep training method or none at all, or if I get you into the right school, or fail at times to make every minute we spend together a quality one, I promise you I will love you more than anything in the entire world. And at least I can hope that, with all the mistakes I will make, you can rest your sweet head on that truth.

20120513-093147.jpg

3 thoughts on “Mothers Day

  1. Beautiful post, Jess. Truly. Lucy will learn from you that loving and being loved is not about perfection and this lesson will be a huge gift to her throughout her life. Her imperfections and the imperfections of those she loves will teach her the most about life, loving, and about herself. One day she’ll be a mother like you, loving her daughter madly and accepting herself as mother, teacher, and guide because she was first accepted unconditionally by you, and because she watched you accept and love yourself as you mothered her. You make motherhood shine and glow; you make me so excited to become a mother myself one day. I love watching you experiencing life with Lucy. And if it’s this much fun to watch, I can’t imagine how much fun it must be to be right in the midst of it! I love you both so much. Happy Mama’s Day! ~Brandy

    • Thanks, B. You and I have had so many conversations about the importance of knowing someone loves you really hard! You help me to always remember that. Love you!

Leave a Reply

