A new respect

Single parents, hats off to you! I am on weekend number 2 of hubby being out of town, and while I knew it would be hard, you never really know until it happens. Last weekend while Whit was away, Lucy had a yet-unexplained crying fit from 9 pm till midnight, concluded by projectile vomiting. Lucky for me, our sweet dog walked behind us cleaning up all the vomit. Gross! Then this weekend I made the trek to Ohio with baby and dog. What was supposed to be a 5-hour drive turned into 7.5. But that isn’t really the point of this post. Ultimately, I’ve learned something about traveling alone with baby. Quick! Gimme an L! Gimme an O! Gimme a G! Gimme a…this is a long word. LOGISTICS, people! Let’s think…it’s 10 PM. Baby is asleep in the backseat (finally). Mama has to pee. Hmmm… I can’t just leave her in the car and run in to the Quick
Mart. And she’s sleeping so soundly! Ok just keep going. And don’t drink any more water! It’s 11 PM (Mama still has to pee). Standstill traffic on route 71! What if she wakes up hungry? She’s been asleep for 4 hours! These are the decisions you face when you and your baby are out on the midnight highway. Thankfully, we did arrive safely at midnight-thirty, and mama and baby were asleep by 1:15. And little Lucy didn’t wake up till we reached Oma and Opa’s house. And I finally got to pee! In the future…not sure what I’d do differently. Probably just hope for the best. As I look at my sweet girl napping away, I am so thankful for this time with her. I told Whit, “at least when you’re away I don’t have to share her with anyone!”

20120504-155237.jpg

Leave a Reply

