It really is the little things…

20120219-203456.jpg

Mushy mom alert! This post is going to be pure sap. Ok, here goes:

For the past two mornings, Whit has brought Lucy in to our room to nurse so I don’t have to get out of bed in the early morning on a weekend. Besides the fact that Whit is one of the most supportive, sweetest dads you could ever ask for, bringing Lucy into my bed means I get that extra snuggle time before the day begins. I’m too much of a paranoid momma to try true co-sleeping, but napping in the morning when daddy’s already up watching TV is ok by me. And seriously, it’s those little moments where your baby is sleeping so peacefully with you that make every 2 AM feeding, every dirty diaper, every inconsolable cry as you go through the checkout line at the grocery store…worth it. I lay there and try to memorize the curve of her nose, the little noises she makes when she sleeps, and the way her little hands move around to grab onto my hair or my shirt while she dreams.

Everyone tells you, “it goes by so fast! Enjoy every minute!” But let’s be honest, there is no mom on earth that enjoys every minute of motherhood! In an attempt to be realistic and rid myself of mommy guilt, I’m going to focus instead on enjoying these moments. And let’s just try to survive the others, then laugh about them when we make it through.

One thought on “It really is the little things…

  1. Aww that just made me get teary. It’s so true, I just want to memorize every little breath, coo, Annabelle’s fingers and her toes. You’re doing a great job of taking it all in and also writing it all down. šŸ˜‰ Way to go!

Leave a Reply

