Adventures in Babysitting

Last night we had a wedding to go to, and our good friend Jessie watched Lucy, along with our other friends’ two children. It kind of amazed me how my entire day was spent focused on preparing Lucy for being babysat! I did everything I could to make sure she slept and ate well all day, in hopes of setting her up for success for the night! This was the first time that someone other than family has watched Lucy, and I was worried about how she’d do during her “nighttime fussy time.” I had no doubts that Jessie was fully capable of course; I was more concerned about how Jessie’s evening was going to go! We dropped Lucy off and she was fine – smiley and happy to be with the girls. As soon as we pulled out of the driveway, though, I was the one who was crying! It was as if we were leaving for a month! I boo-hoo’d the entire way to the wedding, and continued boo-hooing up until the ceremony started! Oh boy, with daycare just a week away, how are we going to handle this? I was, however, pleasantly surprised to return 3 hours later to my smiley baby, bouncing away in her chair, well-rested and well-fed. Whew!
I have to say, I was pretty proud of my girl! All in all, the whole being apart from my baby
will get easier, right?

One thought on “Adventures in Babysitting

  1. Hi Jess, No it doesn’t get much easier, Hon!! Maybe for Lucy, though!! Love you, Darlin’!! i want to come out soon!

Leave a Reply

