Solo-ing the Night Shift

Whit’s out with the boys tonight so I’m on night shift alone. So far so good! We had a nice bath and a good nurse (!!) and Lucy went to sleep pretty fast! Here’s hoping she stays that way for at least the next 6 hours… I should be right behind her in dreamland, too! The only (semi-) annoying thing about the solo night shift job is the whole getting up to pump and also feed her. I’m hoping that my nursing luck will carry me through tonight, and I can just nurse her…then I can skip the pumping craziness! Nothing makes you want to go back to sleep more than sitting up in bed, using your (non-existent at 4 AM) fine motor skills to put the pump parts together, pumping for 30 min, then taking the whole thing apart, cleaning the pieces, and laying your head back on your pillow. I seriously have a love/hate relationship with my pump. Love her for what she does (and super efficiently!), hate her for how industrial she is (isn’t feeding your baby supposed to be the most natural thing in the world?). I’ll keep pushing my luck with nursing more, and I need to respect the fact that I’m going back to work in a few weeks and am definitely going to need my precious pump then!

Oma and Opa (my mom and step-dad) are visiting this weekend so Lucy got some good holding time in today with both of them! Watching her being held by someone else, it struck me how big she is getting! She looked like such a chunk! It reminds me again at how fast the time goes. And while pictures and videos help, nothing can slow down that time with your baby. I try to enjoy every minute, without getting caught up in the nostalgia of it before it’s gone. Whit tells me to stop thinking about it so much so I actually CAN enjoy every minute. I’m working on that.

Leave a Reply

