Warning: I’m talking about boobs

If you are uncomfortable reading about breastfeeding, this post is not for you.

If you’re still reading, here goes!

If you’re reading this, you probably know about my breastfeeding woes. Lucy and I just couldn’t “connect” all the time with breastfeeding. She is a frantic eater, and I have a “slow let-down.” Meaning: the milk is not always there right when she wants it. She has to suck a bit to get it moving. That’s part of the issue. The other issue is that, once the milk gets going, my cup runneth over! I am over-producing currently, probably enough for twins. Literally, I’m pumping 50-60 ounces per day, roughly twice what Lucy eats. Sooo, the milk is slow to get to her and then once it does, it’s like Niagara Falls, or maybe Old Faithful? Poor thing starts choking and gasping for air. Sometimes she is chugging so fast to keep up that she throws up. It’s a big ol’ mess. We were really struggling for a while – her crying from frustration, then eventually latching on, choking, latching off, crying more, latching on, choking, etc. The whole thing would take forever and she had swallowed so much air by the end that all the burping in the world couldn’t make her belly feel better. Thus, I’ve resorted to pumping most of the time. That first time I pumped a bottle and she calmly drank it down seemed like a tiny miracle to me. However, I really enjoy nursing! There’s nothing like the bond between mom and baby, and I felt like I must be doing something wrong that it wasn’t going well! It was a heartbreaking decision, and one that I still go back on about once a day, but I know it’s best for me to pump and bottle-feed her most of the time. I am still trying to continue nursing her in the morning when she first wakes up and is sleepy and calm, but the later in the day it gets, the harder it is to have a peaceful/successful nursing session.
That said, we had a mini breakthrough tonight! I’ve started taking baths with Lucy in the evenings to increase our bonding time and because naked baby in the tub is just about the cutest thing in the world. And she LOVES the tub. She coos, kicks her little feet in the water, and smiles at me. So tonight it worked out that bath time coincided with hungry baby, and it was quickly approaching “hangry” baby. Whit brought me a bottle, but I’m sitting there in the tub with her! I thought, she’s so calm! Now’s my chance to try a night nursing session! Lo and behold, she took to it like a fish to water. It was like we had never had any issues breastfeeding at all! Plus, after that, she was all warm, relaxed, and full, and went straightaway to dreamland in her crib. Whit only had to rock her a few minutes and she was out! I hope we can add this to our bedtime routine!

For obvious reasons, there are no great pics to post for this one! I’ll settle for some bath time pics…

One thought on “Warning: I’m talking about boobs

Leave a Reply

